• Band Members

    Band Members

John Cowking - (Conductor)

Conductor John Cowking joined the band in 1967, following in the footsteps of his father and grandfather. He began on Eb Bass and then moved to Tenor Trombone until taking over the role of conductor in 1972. Since then John has led the band at various events in the locality and in 2015 was awarded the British Empire Medal in the Queen’s New Year Honours, in recognition of musical services in the Hodder Valley.



Anthea Hodson


John Cowking BEM


Barry Bleasdale (Principal)

David Gawthorpe

Catherine Hilton

Richard Horn

Anthony Macquarrie

Harry Mussett

Miles Peachey

Julie Smith

Flugel Horn

Alison Cowking

Tenor horn

Elizabeth Bowness

Yvonne Lang

Dennis Rogers


Cynthia Baxter

Tony Twist


John Chadwick

John Smithson


John Caterall

Simon Pollard

Eb Bass

Charlotte MacQuarrie

Ken Smith

Bb Bass

David Price